2006 Year 8 Final – Castleford High 16 Brynteg 14

Just five days after Bridgend Blue Bulls’ exit in the National Conference Premier semi-finals at the hands of South London Storm, a second Bridgend rugby league side has failed to retain a trophy that they won last year after Brynteg Comprehensive School narrowly lost 16-14 to Castleford High in the Year Eight Powergen Champion Schools Tournament final.

Castleford inflicted their revenge on the Bridgend-based school as the two sides had previously met in the 2005 Year Seven final at the Millennium Stadium with Brynteg running out easy 40-4 winners.

This year though, it was a lot closer with Brynteg unfortunate to lose by the odd try in seven. Rhys Evans, who scored two tries at the Millennium last year, powered clear to open the scoring after just six minutes before adding another from close range to put them 10-0 up.

But Castleford showed their spirit and determination in a hard-fought encounter when Danny Holmes and Danny Wadsworth crossed either side of half time to reduce the deficit to just two points.

Last year’s man of the match, Ben Evans replied for Brynteg with a fine charge down the left touchline but hooker David Strong replied immediately with a try to keep Cas in contention.

But Billy Goodall pounced on a loose ball in the corner to edge Castleford ahead for the first time with less than ten minutes remaining – a lead that they weren’t going to lose.

Their narrow defeat leaves just Celtic Crusaders flying the flag for Wales in domestic rugby league this season. The Crusaders have two matches remaining in their regular season as they strive for promotion to National League One, travelling to Gateshead next Sunday before entertaining Featherstone Rovers on Sunday 10th September.

1 Adam Hargreaves
2 Ross Velsey
3 Danny Wadsworth
4 Ellis Lacy
5 Matty Norton
6 Danny Holmes
7 Joe Duxbury
8 James Kitchen
9 David Strong
10 Joe Burton
11 Billy Goodall
12 Luke Hobson
13 Daniel Smith
14 Gareth Olliman
15 Sam Mostacci
16 Ryan Meah
17 John Fenwick

1 Adam Wellington
2 Dan James
3 Rhys Evans
4 Josh Miles
5 Huw Rossser
6 Oliver Olds
7 Huw Robinson
8 Chris Morgan
9 Adam Morris
10 Alex Evans
11 Tyler Williams
12 William Thomas
13 Ben Evans
14 Patrick Roberts
15 Aaron Williams
16 Scott Bryant
17 Jay Roberts