As we countdown to this year’s Rugby League World Cup, here’s the first in our monthly lookbacks at previous World Cup competitions involving Wales…

The 1975 Rugby League World Championship (also referred to as the World Series) was the seventh tournament for the Rugby League World Cup. The format differed from that employed in previous competitions; no single country hosted the matches, which were spread out in a ‘world series’ hosted by each of the five participating nations over a period of just over eight months. Each team had to play the others on a ‘home and away’ basis. Great Britain were split up into separate England and Wales teams, taking advantage of a glut of Welsh talent in the British game at the time.

No final was held, with Australia being deemed the champions by virtue of finishing on top of the table with England coming in second, with many people believing that their loss to third placed Wales in Brisbane as the game where they lost the tournament. As Australia had not beaten England to win the cup, a final challenge was hastily arranged. The Kangaroos showed they were worthy World Champions with a comprehensive 25–0 win at Headingley.

As the tournament was held over two seasons, click HERE to see the first batch of Wales games and HERE to see the second batch.

WALES SQUAD – Click on the surnames for a player profile. When viewing on a mobile phone, it’s best to view in landscape mode. All data below just refers to the 1975 World Championship.

HEAD COACH – Les Pearce

First NameSurnameClubAppTGDGPts
PeterBannerSalford / Featherstone Rovers72006
KelCoslettSt Helens61207
EddieCunninghamSt Helens40000
TonyFisherLeeds / Castleford61003
MelJamesSt Helens10000
JohnMantleSt Helens81003
RoyMathiasSt Helens70000
MickMurphyBradford Northern30000
PeterRoweBlackpool Borough40000
CliveSullivanHull Kingston Rovers41003
GlynTurnerHull Kingston Rovers40000
DavidWatkins (c)Salford8026052
FrankWilsonSt Helens71003
Translate »