Cymru under 16 84- 4 Scotland

Wales under 16s showed a ruthless edge to score 15 tries in a comprehensive win over Scotland in Barrow.

The game started in ominous fashion, with captain Jake Nottingham sent to the sin-bin in the opening set for a dangerous tackle, with Scottish winger, Henry Grierson taking advantage of the extra space afforded to get over in the corner.

But from that point on, it was one-way traffic. Henry Parker created the first try for Kaden Johnson after eight minutes, with Nathan Davies scoring his first minutes later. Parker was again involved in the third Welsh try, with a set move from the scrum seeing Sam Grice get over. 

Prop, Owain Martin used his physical presence to bump off the Scottish defence and score the first of his hat-trick to have Wales scoring at a point a minute. A second for Martin swiftly followed, with Kai Sengul and Charlie Bennett both crossing before the interval to see Wales have the game settled at 40-4.

Winger, Sengul, opened the second-half scoring, with Kaden Johnson grabbing his second try following a sin-bin for Scotland’s, Charlie Benn. With a numerical advantage, Wales maintained their composure in attack to score again through Nottingham, Martin, Nathan Davies and Joseph Johnson, before Scotland returned to their full complement of players.

Sam Dickenson added another before Nottingham finished the game in better style than he began it, scoring the final try of the day. Man of the match, Junior Westwood, converted for the twelfth time, to give Wales their second-biggest win over Scotland in all running rugby league.

Scotland: Struan White, Henry Grierson, Lachlan Webster, Seth Clapham, Jacob Robinson, Isaac Jepson, Charlie Benn, Finlay Mortimer, Myles Michael. Joe Miller, Harry Roper, Kier Fyfe, Drew Docherty. Interchanges: Caiden Macrea, Sebastian Millar, Collin Stoddart-Shanly, Michael Reilly, Rorry Irving, Alfie Jackson.

Wales: Samuel Dickenson, Jacob Jones, Sam Grice, Morgan Marozzelli, Kai Sengul, Junior Westwood, Henry Parker, Jacob Morris, Leo Bonham, Nathan Davies, Kaden Johnson, Jake Nottingham (c), Kade Woodward. Interchanges: Harri Jacob, Finlay Walker, Joseph Johnson, Iestyn Jones, Charlie Bennett, Owain Martin, Jake Sheppard.