Flintshire claim the North Wales title

Flintshire Falcons claimed the Clecs Media North Wales Rugby League title with a 24-22 win over Conwy Celts at Stadiwm CSM.

Toby Davies stole the show as his double clinched victory. After going down 12-0 during the first half, the Falcons never die attitude shone through as they scored late in the first and second half to take the trophy home.

Byron Davies opened the scoring for the Celts after throwing a dummy which caused confusion in the Falcons defence before diving over.

Falcons responsed minutes later as Celts gave a penalty away before Billy Forrester spread the ball wide and Alex Prince bumped the covering defender before dotting down.

Celts extended the lead after Stokes broke the defensive line and had too much power for the valiant efforts of the Falcons defence.

Blake Turner was sin binned for Falcons for aggressive behaviour but it was the team with 12 that scored next as they worked the ball out the right touchline and Saul Hope showed his strength as he brushed off the defender for an easy score in the corner.

Falcons started the second half as they ended the first as Davies darted over from close range to bring the scores level, with Forrester’s conversion giving the Falcons the lead for the first time in the game.

The lead didn’t last long as Stokes grabbed his second of the game, once again showing his strength breaking the defensive line to score. It was soon followed by another score, as Layton Watson was shown the outside but used his pace to slide over in the corner.

Callum Lenoard looked like he was about to drag his team back into it but last ditch defending from Celts held him up.

Once again Falcons went down to 12 and scored as Aidyn Jones forced his way over the line. Entering the final ten minutes, Davies managed to sneak over for his second to put his team into the lead.

A stop-start final 10 minutes with injuries and both teams having given it their all saw no change to the score line and gave victory to the Falcons.

Conwy Celts

1. Iestyn Milburn

2. Tomo Coathup

3. Gez Owen

4. Tom Caldwell

5. Mike Caldwell

6. Byron Davies

7. Ian Marshall

8. Ian Williams

9. Paul Thompson

10. Jonny Stokes

11. Ollie Roberts

12. Layton Watson

13. Ed Weston


14. Sion Jones

15. Ashley Rees-Davies

16. Martin Carmack

17. Rob Gray-Williams

18. Simon Kalafusz

Tries: Davies, Jonny Stokes x 2, Layton Watson

Goals: Davies x 3

Flintshire Falcons

1 – James Jackson

5 – Shaun Foster

4 – Josh Mewes

3 – Aidyn Jones (C)

2 – Saul Hope

14 – Cameron Long

18 – Billy Forrester

8- Callum Leonard

9 – Matty Worrall

10 – Ryan Jones

12 – Sam Mcgrail

11 – Matt Bowden

13 – Blake Turner


19 – Ieuan Evans

15 – Paul Welchy

17 – Rhys Jones

16 – Alex Prince

22 – Dylan Nicholas

7 – Toby Davies

21 – Harry Worrall

6 – Jack Davies

Tries: Davies x2, Hope, Prince, Jones
Goals: Long x 2
Sin Bin: Forrester, Turner