Rhyl Exiles win 2010 North Wales Nines

The North Wales Rugby League kicked off successfully on Sunday in Wrexham when Rhyl Exiles won the inaugural North Wales Nines, beating Penrhyn Eagles from Bangor 14-4 in final. The Exiles are a brand new club, formed after the Rhyl Coasters disbanded last year.

Mid Wales Marauders from Welshpool, Conwy Celts from Colwyn Bay and Chester Gladiators also competed in a forerunner of the North Wales Merit League which begins next week.

Player of the Tournament was Arwyn Griffiths from Penrhyn Eagles.

All teams played at the Racecourse Ground before Crusaders’ 44-20 win over Bradford Bulls in the engage Super League. The players from all five sides stayed to watch the game, then paraded around the pitch at half-time to a huge applause.

The trophy was presented by Wales coach Iestyn Harris, Patron of Wales Rugby League and loyal Crusaders fan Janet Ryder and Wales Rugby League president Mike Nicholas.

Matt Pritchard Community Development Manager of North Wales said: “It was fantastic to see four new Welsh Conference clubs developed here in North Wales and to see everyone having a thoroughly enjoyable day.

“The launch for the North Wales Merit league with a Nines tournament on our Super League pitch made it a special occasion and a launch that the clubs deserved.

“I, as well as many others, are looking forward to this season and the development of rugby league here in North Wales.”

If anyone would be interested in developing clubs, coaching, refereeing please contact mpritchard@crusadersrfl.com

This Saturday, the Exiles and Eagles meet again while Welshpool Marauders host Conwy Celts.

The full set of results from the day are as follows…

Group Stages
Penrhyn Eagles 14 Mid Wales Marauders 4
Conwy Celts 0 Rhyl Exiles 30
Chester Gladiators 16 Penrhyn Eagles 24
Mid Wales Marauders 14 Conwy Celts 12
Rhyl Exiles 20 Chester Gladiators 0
Penrhyn Eagles 28 Conwy Celts 4
Mid Wales Marauders 0 Rhyl Exiles 16
Conwy Celts 6 Chester Gladiators 24
Mid Wales Marauders 4 Chester Gladiators 14

Cup Final Penrhyn Eagles 4 Rhyl Exiles 14