Triple header of action at Abertillery on Saturday

Wales U18 and U16 have named their squads to face England Lions on Saturday at Abertillery RFC.

The matches are part of a triple header of games. First up is the U16 international which kicks off at noon. Wales did the double over England last season so will want to keep up that record in front of what will be a large home crowd.

At 2pm, there’s a development game between East Wales and West Wales at U14 level. It’s the return fixture between the two sides who last met in Dunvant in March when East won 16-10.

Finally for this particular venue, at 4pm it’s the turn of Wales U18 to match up against the English. Wales will be looking for a win against England at this age-group for the first time in a decade.

Wales U18 head coach Wayne Ponting has named a 20-player squad, 11 of whom played for Wales U19 in last year’s European Championships. Daniel Bartlett, Oliver Ford, Jayden Grey, Ben Morris, Brandon Richards, Ethan Stebbings, Charlie Stoddart and Cory Westermark move up from Wales U16s whilst Harrison Doe is set to win his first Welsh cap.

Most of the Wales u16 side will be winning their first caps, with only Sam Grice, Kaden Johnson, Jake Nottingham, Henry Parker, Ethan Paterson and Kade Woodward returning from last year’s side.

Of the two England line-ups, only Alfie Cox has faced Wales before at any level. Playing for England Lions U16, he turned out for Cumbria last year in a representative game against Wales U16.

Admission to the whole day is £5 adults, £3 concessions and free for children.

Alex Banks (Torfaen Tigers / Coleg y Cymoedd)
Carter Barnes (Torfaen Tigers / Coleg y Cymoedd)*
Daniel Bartlett (Cardiff Blue Dragons)
Rhys Davies (Aber Valley Wolves / Coleg y Cymoedd)
Harrison Doe (Bridgend Blue Bulls)
Oliver Ford (Aber Valley Wolves / Coleg y Cymoedd)*
Charlie Glover (Halton Farnworth Hornets / Salford Red Devils)
Jayden Grey (Bridgend Blue Bulls)*
Llewellyn Hawkes (Bridgend Blue Bulls)
Jamie Jenkins (Cardiff Blue Dragons / Coleg y Cymoedd)
Calum Jones (Aber Valley Wolves / Coleg y Cymoedd)*
Lewis Jones (Aber Valley Wolves / Coleg y Cymoedd)*
Connor Lacey (Cynon Valley Cavaliers / Coleg y Cymoedd / Salford Red Devils)
William McCarthy (Aberavon Fighting Irish)*
Dafydd Morgan (Aber Valley Wolves / Coleg y Cymoedd)
Dylan Morgan (Cardiff Blue Dragons / Coleg y Cymoedd)
Ben Morris (Bridgend Blue Bulls)
Brandon Richards (Bridgend Blue Bulls / Coleg y Cymoedd)
Ethan Stebbings (Aber Valley Wolves)
Charlie Stoddart (Bridgend Blue Bulls)
Cory Westermark (Bridgend Blue Bulls)

* Has also played for Salford Red Devils U18 but not yet signed for the club.

Charlie Bennett (Torfaen Tigers/Ebbw Fawr Learning Community)
Leo Bonham (Bridgend Blue Bulls/Pontarddulais Comprehensive School)
Nathan Davies (Bridgend Blue Bulls/Ysgol Maes Y Gwendraeth)
Samuel Dickenson (Woolston Rovers/St. Ambrose College)
Sam Grice (York Acorn/Manor CE Academy)
Harri Jacob (Torfaen Tigers/Ysgol Gymraeg Gwynllyw)
Joseph Johnson (Cardiff Blue Dragons/Corpus Christi High School)
Kaden Johnson (Crosfields/Great Sankey High School)
Jacob Jones (Bridgend Blue Bulls/Strade School)
Morgan Marozzelli (Aber Valley Wolves/Blackwood Comprehensive School)
Owain Martin (Bridgend Blue Bulls/Ysgol Bryntawe)
Jacob Morris (Cynon Valley Cavaliers/Aberdare Community School)
Jake Nottingham (Bridgend Blue Bulls/Ysgol Dyffryn Amman)
Henry Parker (Aber Valley Wolves/Llanishen High School)
Ethan Paterson (Aber Valley Wolves/Islwyn High School)
Kai Sengul (Aber Valley Wolves/Ysgol Gyfun Cwm Rhymni)
Jake Sheppard (Torfaen Tigers/Islwyn High School)
Finlay Walker (Aber Valley Wolves/Y Pant Comprehensive School)
Junior Westwood (Crosfields/Great Sankey High School)
Kade Woodward (Torfaen Tigers/Ysgol Gymraeg Gwmraeg Gwynllyw)

Harry Sheridan – Rochdale Mayfield
Daniel Knott – Dalton
Oliver Smart – Siddal
Henry Ogden – Siddal
Harley Nelson Kells
George Jamieson – Salford City Roosters
Devan Sharp – Wath Brow Hornets
Dylan Grears – Kells
Scott Simmons – Orrell St James
Armand Jozsef Palinka – Milford
Callum Cottington – Ashton Bears
Ben Metcalfe – Rochdale Mayfield
Luke Sutcliffe Blackbrook Royals
Lewis Davies – Pilkington Recs
Malachi Price – Wigan St Judes
Tom Farren – Roose Pioneers
Keane Elms -Blackbrook Royals
Jacob Haigh- Siddal
Jack Lawler- West Hull
Joshua Blinkhorn- Dalton

Jacob Rushforth – Siddal
Ruben Ruane – Blackbrook
Taylor Giroud – Brentwood Eels
Adam Robinson – Waterhead Warriors
Henry Parkin – Emley Moor
Cameron Robinson – Waterhead Warriors
Joshua Langley – Blackbrook
Joe Lewis – Siddal
Joshua Hopkins – Leigh East
Charlie. Harrison – Dewsbury Moor
James Surtees – Shaw Cross Sharks
Marcus Geener – Saddleworth Rangers
Miller Dalton – Hensingham
Alfie Hough – Hindley
Tyler Brady – Roose Pioneers
Harry Barker – Waterhead Warriors
Lewis Topping – Wigan St Judes
Fletcher Holgate – Hensingham