Champion Schools Final preview as Glantaf travel to Newcastle

It’s England versus Wales at Magic Weekend in Newcastle on Saturday, when The Brooksbank School, Halifax, take on Cardiff’s Ysgol Gyfun Gymraeg Glantaf at St James’s Park (KO 11.30am) for the right to be crowned Year 10 Girls Champion School.

Champion Schools is the RFL’s flagship schools competition, involving local and regional stages, then national competitions for girls and boys at years 7-11. The girls’ competition began in 2004 and has grown incrementally, making Champion Schools the largest Rugby League competition in the world.  

In 2022 Ysgol Gyfun Gymraeg Glantaf became the first Welsh girls’ team to win a Champion Schools trophy and reached the Year 10 with a hard-earned 14-10 semi-final win over Warrington’s Culcheth High.   

“Having had the opportunity to walk around the stadium the day after the final last year, the girls could only have dreamed of the possibility to ever play on such a pitch,” says coach Gwennan Harries. “It certainly was a source of motivation during half-time of the semi-final when the girls really had to dig deep. There will be nerves stepping onto the field, however, the memories made will certainly last a lifetime.” 

After finishing second in their National Festival group, The Brooksbank School overcame Widnes’s Wade Deacon High 22-16 to reach their very first Year 10 Girls final – and coach Leah Jones couldn’t be happier.  

“I’m incredibly proud of the team for all they have achieved this year,” she says. “Yorkshire Champions and now in the national final at St James’ Park. What a fantastic opportunity for everyone involved. They have put on some incredible displays of rugby throughout the year, and I look forward to watching them get stuck in at the final.”  

Champion Schools is now being run in partnership with inspiresport – the UK’s leading youth sports development tour operator for schools, clubs and groups. And after what has been a fantastic debut season for the partnership, inspiresport’s Managing Director Steve Butchart has reflected on what promises to be a brilliant occasion.  

“We’re delighted to be the presenting partner of the inspiresport Champion Schools tournament,” says Steve. “To showcase the Year 10 Girls final as part of Magic Weekend at St James’ Park is a fitting end to what’s been a fantastic competition this year. We’re really looking forward to attending the match and enjoying the atmosphere is such an iconic venue, and of course celebrating the achievements of everyone involved.” 

Earlier this year, Featherstone’s Millennium Stadium hosted the Year 11 inspiresport Champion Schools finals, with Warrington Great Sankey High claiming the Year 11 Boys crown and Wigan’s St John Fisher the Year 11 Girls. The final of the Year 7 Boys competition will again be played at Wembley Stadium on 12 August.  

A Finals day will be taking place on July 7 at Kingston Park, Newcastle which will decide the Year 8, 9 and 10 Boys and the Year 7, 8 and 9 Girls. 


Ysgol Gyfun Gymraeg Glantaf Year 10 Girls squad 

  • Megan Jones 
  • Hannah Charitos 
  • Gwennan Evans 
  • Mabli Griffiths 
  • Grace Rayer 
  • Erin Lia-Williams 
  • Olivia Rawnsley 
  • Lili-Nel Stevenon 
  • Lily O’Neill 
  • Elan Hall 
  • Romilly Bennett 
  • Evie Collingwood 
  • Alexa Fisher 
  • Genevieve Miles 
  • Tilly Bevan 

The Brooksbank School Year 10 Girls squad 


  • Madison Clegg  
  • Lily White 
  • Gabriella Shaw 
  • Mia Jones 
  • Niamh Fitzgibbon 
  • Lauren Goodwin 
  • Lill Seal 
  • Ayla Acarer 
  • Sophie Simpson 
  • Alysia Tait 
  • Caitlin Plant 
  • Issy Murray 
  • Sevi Bozou 
  • Alisha Ashcroft