2004 – Wade Deacon 32 Whitchurch High 10

Ryan Risley scored a hat-trick and took home the Chev Walker Man of the Match medal as Wade Deacon ran away with the Year 7 Final in the Millennium Stadium.

There was some consolation for Whitchurch as Elliott Jones scorched over for the try of the match, much to the delight of the massing crowd in the stadium, Ewain Dimmock converting with the last kick of the game.

Rhys Fenton from Whitchurch was Man of the Match and he said to the BBC after the game…

“I was a bit upset we lost but really proud we got to the final. It was good for the school and good for Wales.

“We practiced hard in the last couple weeks and were lucky enough to have former league player Iestyn Harris come into the school and give us some coaching beforehand. He taught us a lot of things and had some good advice.

“During the match I was excited but nervous at the same time, especially with so many people watching. We put loads of effort in and got over for a second try right at the end. We played for pride and didn’t give up til the final whistle.

“Getting the Man of the Match award was a proud moment, and afterwards when we did a lap of honour the crowd were clapping and cheering us all the way around.

“I’d definitely like to go on and have a career in rugby – but whether it’s league or union, I’m not sure yet!”

WHITCHURCH: Elliott Jones, Will Rowlands, Alex Cooke, Tom Wright, James Lawrence, Alex Kerr, Josh Madley, Scott Curtis, Lewis Davies, Keith Muchunga, Elliot Minto, Rhys Fenton. Subs: Jamie Humphrey, Jamie Deabreau, Laurie Reid, Ryan Looker, Harry Janovic.

WADE DEACON: Mark Middlehurst, Tim Finch, Shaun Gledhill, Lewis Jones, Daniel Whalley, Liam Hulme, Dan Oliver, Niall Brown, Ben Williams, Chris Birchall, Ryan Risley, Kyle Glover, Chris Walsh. Subs: Ryan Abbott, Jordan Summer, Tom Mitchell, Alex Yates.