Men’s squad named to take on Papua New Guinea

Wales Men’s Head Coach, John Kear, has made three changes to his 19-player squad ahead of Monday’s final group D game against Papua New Guinea (Eco-Power Stadium, Doncaster, 7.30pm).

Will Evans, Rhodri Lloyd and Mike Butt return having featured against Cook Islands, with Tom Hopkins, Dalton Grant and Luke Thomas the trio to make way.

Stand-off, Ollie Olds, is named after recovering from the knock to his shoulder that forced him from the field late in the game against Tonga.

Wales will be looking for their first win in the tournament for 22 years, with the last victory coming against the same opposition in the 2000 World Cup. Wales require a winning margin of more than 22 points, plus victory for Tonga over the Cook Islands, in order to claim second spot in the group and a place in the quarter-finals.

The squad in full is: 1. Caleb Aekins, 2. Rhys Williams, 4. Will Evans, 6. Elliot Kear (c), 7. Josh Ralph, 8. Anthony Walker, 9. Matty Fozard, 10. Dan Fleming, 11. Rhodri Lloyd, 12. Chester Butler, 14. Ollie Olds, 15. Curtis Davies, 16. Joe Burke, 17. Bailey Antrobus, 18. Connor Davies, 19. Mike Butt, 22. Kyle Evans, 23. James Olds, 24. Gavin Bennion.

Tickets for the game can be purchased at The game will be broadcast live on BBC Two and the iPlayer.