Wales take bronze after tough win over Canada

Wales put in a dominating second half performance to beat the plucky Canadians to the Bronze Medal in the first ever Rugby League Commonwealth Championship.

Canada had already won plaudits by beating England 24-4 on day one, consigning the English to sixth place in the competition, and they almost overcame Wales as well.

Canada lost the ball from the first set after kick-off and Wales didn’t waste the opportunity. Curtis Davies laid off to James Taylor who scored in the corner. Paul Edwards missed the kick.

After repeat sets and a scrum, Canada struck back as the ball was played the ball over to the wing for Matt Gallagher to score.

Then a 50 metre clean break from Cole Keffer put Canada in the ascendancy giving them an 8-4 half-time lead.

However the second half, although still hard fought, belonged to the Welsh.

Marcus Webb struck first with a 40-metre run down the wing. Ben Jones converted to make the score 10-8.

Then came one of the tries of the tournament. James Taylor picked the ball up on his own 10 metre line and the former Ospreys academy player went on a 90 metre run going past the whole Canada side and avoiding a number of tackles from the chasing Canadians to score. Jones converted again.

Finally, Alex King chased a chip kick and outran the exhausted Canada side to seal the win.


Ben Jones
James Taylor
Marcus Webb
Paul Edwards
Dan Maiden
Curtis Davies
Alex King
Harry Cartwright
Zak Williams
Jordan Thomas
Morgan Jeffries
Joe Festa
Connor Davies
Rhys Davies
Harry Boots