WRL Men’s Origin Series kicks off on Sunday

The WRL Men’s Origin Series kicks off this Sunday at Parc Eirias in Colwyn Bay when North Wales Origin host East Wales (kick-off noon).

It’s being played as part of a double-header with an RFL League 1 between North Wales Crusaders and London Skolars.

North Wales Origin are the holders of the trophy, having beaten both East and West Wales last year, and are determined to keep their hands on the silverware.

Coach Simon Reynolds has named just seven debutants in his 22 to fit into his already established squad. He said: “Last year was an outstanding year for North, winning both games, and we are hoping to build on that. With some new players coming into the fold, we are looking at progression with the same principles and processes as last year.” 

East Wales head coach Rob Davies has named an 18-man squad to travel north that contains 10 potential debutants. He said: “North will be confident after winning last year but here we have a new group of boys who will relish the opportunity. The training has gone well and I’m excited to see what they can do.”

Tickets for this bumper day of rugby league are priced at £12 online/£15 on the gate for adults, £10 for concessions and £3 for U16s. Tickets are available online at www.northwalescrusadersrlfc.co.uk/event-details/london-skolars-1

North Wales (from): Richard Hillier-Evans*, Sion Jones, Raymond Lear*, Andy McLorie, Iestyn Milburn, Robert Muirhead, Jonny Stokes, Kieran Thomas* (all Conwy Celts), Jake Redmond* (Dewsbury Moor), Billy Forrester, James Jackson, Aidyn Jones, Cameron Long*, Alfie Matthias, Alex Prince (all Flintshire Falcons), Sean Rodden (Hindley), Ryan Griffiths (Leigh East), Sam Chaloner*, Chris Jones*, Ben Stelmaszek (all Thatto Heath Crusaders), Jake Spedding (Ulverston), Jonny Rae (Wrexham Crusaders)

East Wales: Nathan Tucker (Cardiff Blue Dragons), Diezel Jones, Shane Kerby*, Craig Lewis, Ross Price* (all South Wales Jets), Iolo Bloom*, Kian Parlour*, Cody Rees* (all South Wales Saints), Mike Bagnall, Andrew Barlow, Jermarie Chatham, Jamie Leech*, Ian Manley*, Darrel Moyle, Loukas Paraskeva*, James Raymond*, Max Roberts, Dai Thomas* (all Torfaen Tigers).