Wales Dragonhearts 2023 campaign and squad announced

Wales Dragonhearts, the representative side of the community game, will play three international matches this autumn, including a home game against England at Ynys Park in Port Talbot on October 28 (kick-off 3pm).

It’s the culmination of a big month for the Dragonhearts and they open their account on October 7 when they travel to Dublin to face Ireland Wolfhounds for the first time in nine years.

Then on October 14 at Ruskin Drive in St Helens, there’s an exciting double header of rugby league. Wales Dragonhearts will take on England Lions U23 at 12.30pm before a Physical Disability Rugby League international match between England and Wales.

Following the very successful WRL Men’s Origin Series, which was won by West Wales who beat their counterparts from the East and North, Wales Dragonhearts’ head coach Simon Reynolds has announced a 30-player squad, with 17 coming from the successful West side. Nine stem from Reynolds’ own North Wales side with four from the East. Sixteen of the squad are in the line for their Dragonhearts international debut.

Reynolds said: “Over the past week we have selected a squad off the back of a very successful Origin series, This year’s selection process has been harder than ever, players want to don the red jersey again and there is a genuine pathway to international honours.”

Dragonhearts squad: Lloyd Allen*, Dai Felton, Lewis Francis*, Tyler Hopkins*, Aaron Lewis, Dylan McLachlan*, Conor O’Callagan*, Jake Price, Scott Whitlock*, Iestyn Williams* (all Aberavon Fighting Irish/West Wales), Corey Harris*, Ben Jackson*, Lloyd Pritchard*, Dylan Rees-Davies* (all Bridgend Blue Bulls/West Wales), Brandon Lamb (Bristol All Golds/North Wales), Sion Jones*, Jonny Stokes, Kieran Thomas* (all Conwy Celts/North Wales), Lewys Blayney*, Alex Burton (both Cynon Valley Cavaliers/West Wales), Aidyn Jones*, Alfie Matthias (Flintshire Falcons/North Wales), Chris Harris (Rhondda Outlaws/West Wales), Craig Lewis, Ross Price (both South Wales Jets), Ben Stelmaszek (Thatto Heath Crusaders/North Wales), Kurtis Haile, Nathan Tucker (both Torfaen Tigers/East Wales), Jake Spedding* (Ulverston/North Wales) Jonny Rae (Wrexham Crusaders/North Wales)

* – uncapped