Wales Dragonhearts release train-on squad for England Lions game

Wales Dragonhearts head coach Simon Reynolds has named 32 players in a train-on squad before they face England Lions on Saturday 12 November (venue and time TBC).

The Dragonhearts are the representative side of the community game in Wales and have been on hiatus since the pandemic, having last played a game in 2019.

The concept of a side selected from Welsh clubs only goes back to 1909 when a “Welsh League XIII” beat the touring Kangaroos side in Merthyr Tydfil. Matches against Italy and Wigan followed in 1951, before the concept was revived in the 1980s with “Wales Amateurs” who played their first international against England in 1994. Since then, the side has produced over 30 full Wales internationals, including this year’s men’s Rugby League World Cup captain Elliot Kear.

This year’s Dragonhearts squad has been named following three weeks of Origin games between North, East and West Wales where the North came out champions.

Of the train-on squad selected, just 10 have played for the Dragonhearts in previous years.

Reynolds said: “The selection process has been tough but we feel that we have enough included to enable us to progress with the train on squad with a view to end the 2022 season strongly against England Lions and kick on for more games in 2023.”


Ieuan Ace* (West) (Bridgend Blue Bulls)
Dylan Agar* (West) (Aberavon Fighting Irish)
Lewys Blayney* (West) (Cynon Valley Cavaliers)
Jack Dacey* (West) (Aberavon Fighting Irish)
Toby Davies* (North) (Flintshire Falcons)
David Felton* (West) (Black Dragons)
Billy Forrester* (North) (Flintshire Falcons
Rhodri Garland* (East) (Rhondda Outlaws)
Ryan Griffiths (North) (Ince Rose Bridge)
Chris Harris* (East) (Rhondda Outlaws)
Dean Higgs (East) (Torfaen Tigers)
Mike Hurley (East) (Torfaen Tigers)
Morgan Johnson* (North) (Leeds Becket Uni)
Sion Jones* (North) (Conwy Celts)
Brandon Lamb* (East) (Bristol All Golds)
Aaron Lewis (West) (Aberavon Fighting Irish)
Craig Lewis (East) (Torfaen Tigers)
Will Lynch* (North) (Leigh Miners Rangers)
Alfie Mathias (North) (Thatto Heath Crusaders)
Issac Morgan* (West) (Aberavon Fighting Irish)
Ki Morgan* (West) (Aberavon Fighting Irish)
Jake Price* (West) (Aberavon Fighting Irish)
Jonny Rae (North) (Thatto Heath Crusaders)
Jonny Rees (West) (Bridgend Blue Bulls)
Jake Spedding* (North) (Ulverston ARLFC)
Ben Stelmaszek (North) (Thatto Heath Crusaders)
Jonathan Stokes* (North) (Conwy Celts)
Myran Trurare* (East) (Rhondda Outlaws)
Nathan Tucker* (East) (Cardiff Blue Dragons)
Lewis Walsh* (West) (Cynon Valley Cavaliers)
Shaun Watton (East) (Rhondda Outlaws)
Scott Whitlock* (West) (Aberavon Fighting Irish)