Wales name U16 first team and development squads

Wales have released two different Under 16 squads where they will all be competing for a place in the side to face England on August 31 at Stebonheath Park in Llanelli (kick-off 3pm).

Head coach Lee Crooks has named a 20-man “first team”, plus a 15-man development squad who will be ready to step up in cases of injuries.

Crooks said: “Having come into the role of Wales U16 head coach, there has been some obstacles which we have had to overcome. The selection process has been quite difficult but I believe that we have a group of players that have the potential to get better and for some of them progress into the professional game.

“We selected an initial 17 players from the North v South game and then added 18 players from the East v West game. This gave me a chance to look at all players facing up against others of similar ability.

“The focus of the three camps from a coach’s point is to develop the players’ technical and tactical understanding of the game. The focus for the players will be to learn how to compete at the highest levels and understand their individual roles and responsibilities.

“The game against England will be very difficult but our success will not be based on what the scoreboard says, but on how well we compete. I hope that this group of players along with the U14 Development Squad will continue to look to develop themselves through our elite player programmes which will be announced later.”

The teams will train for three Saturdays in a row from August 3. For more information, email

Josh Atkinson (Cardiff Blue Dragons)
Noah Bray (Emley Moor)
Jermarie Chattem (Torfaen Tigers / West Wales Raiders)
Morgan Chell (Llanelli Knights / West Wales Raiders)
Lucas Elliott (Elmbridge Eagles)
Oscar Fisher (Newcastle Thunder)
Sam Godfrey (Bridgend Blue Bulls / West Wales Raiders)
Jay Guard (Llanelli Knights / West Wales Raiders)
Ieuan Hancock (Torfaen Tigers / West Wales Raiders)
Kyle Huish (Aber Valley Wolves / Wigan Warriors)
Ben Mayhew (Wetherby Bulldogs / Leeds Rhinos)
Will Oates (Aber Valley Wolves)
Lewis Pinder (Wigan St Judes / Wigan Warriors)
James Pugsley (Telford Raiders)
Iwan Pyrs-Jones (Cardiff Blue Dragons)
Gabe Santos (Cardiff Blue Dragons)
Ewan Skuse (Cardiff Blue Dragons)
Iwan Stacey (Elmbridge Eagles / London Broncos)
Luke Thomas (Latchford Giants / Warrington Wolves)
Billy Walkley (Aber Valley Wolves / West Wales Raiders)

Will Bevan (Bridgend Blue Bulls)
Ewan Challenger (Aber Valley Wolves / West Wales Raiders)
Owen Davies (Bridgend Blue Bulls / West Wales Raiders)
Will Fyfe (Bridgend Blue Bulls / West Wales Raiders)
Sean Gardner (Cardiff Blue Dragons)
Harrison Griffiths (Llanelli Knights / West Wales Raiders)
Jamie Griffiths (Cardiff Blue Dragons)
Lewis Ingram (Bridgend Blue Bulls / West Wales Raiders)
Harry Johnson (Torfaen Tigers)
Will Odgers (Cardiff Blue Dragons)
Jordan Parker (Torfaen Tigers / West Wales Raiders)
Mason Phillips (Aber Valley Wolves / West Wales Raiders)
Jack Preddy (Cardiff Blue Dragons)
Caian Rees (Aber Valley Wolves / West Wales Raiders)
Bradley Toy (Aber Valley Wolves)