Watton makes Conference National Team of the Year

Valley Cougars’ encouraging debut season in the Conference National has been highlighted by Liam Watton’s inclusion in the Conference National Team of the Year.

The wing, who scored 11 tries in as many games in his first year as a rugby league player, was selected in the representative side by Forty-20 Magazine.

Cougars head coach Lee Cullen was full of praise for Watton after overseeing his transition into the 13-man game.

He said: “When we brought Liam in he’ll be the first to admit it was all very new to him but we knew, because of his size and his speed, that once he got to grips with the structure and our plays he would be a quality addition to our squad. He went on to prove that over the course of the season, not only with his tries but some very important try-saving tackles.”

The Cougars finished the season in fifth place but their play-off journey was shortlived after defeat on the road to Hemel Stags.


1 – Barry John Swindells (Hemel Stags)
2 – Liam Watton (Valley Cougars)
3 – Danny Glassell (Featherstone Lions)
4 – Adam Ryder (Huddersfield Underbank Rangers)
5 – Courtney Allette (Huddersfield Underbank Rangers)
6 – Andy Speake (Kippax Knights)
7 – Ryan Butcher (Hemel Stags)
8 – Alex Walmsley (Dewsbury Celtic)
9 – Martyn Smith (Hemel Stags)
10 – Sam Dalby (Huddersfield Underbank Rangers)
11 – Eddie Kilroy (Dewsbury Celtic)
12 – Steve Scott (Kippax Knights)
13 – Simon Perry (Coventry Bears)