West Wales host East Wales in Skewen on Sunday

West Wales and East Wales meet this Sunday at Skewen RFC (kick-off 2pm) in the second of this year’s WRL Origin Series.

West need a good win this week to bounce back from their defeat in North Wales last Saturday. For East, it’s their first game of the series and are defending the title that they’ve won for the past two campaigns.

Historically, there’s not much between the two sides, so it could be a close encounter.

West Wales bring ten new players into their 22-man squad after their loss in Bangor last week. They are Bridgend Blue Bulls’ Dale Wood, Ieuan Ace, Lloyd Pritchard and Daniel Forrester, with six from Aberavon Fighting Irish – Dafydd Jones, William McCarthy, Jack Dacey, Dylan Agar, Ki Morgan and Isaac Morgan. All bar Wood and Forrester could make their Origin debuts.

East have named a 18-man squad with all bar Dean Higgs (five appearances so far for East Wales), Craig Lewis (three appearances) and Mike Hurley (six) set to make their East Wales debuts. Rhodri Garland and Chris Harris have appeared for West Wales in the past when the boundary rules were different.

East host North to finish the campaign on Saturday 1 October. Please keep up to date with venue announcements at http://rugbyleague.cymru/senior-origin


Liam Jones (Bridgend Blue Bulls)
Dale Wood (Bridgend Blue Bulls)
Jake Price (Aberavon Fighting Irish)
Ben Phillips (Bridgend Blue Bulls)
Aaron Lewis (Aberavon Fighting Irish)
Jonny Rees (Bridgend Blue Bulls, captain)
Dafydd Jones (Aberavon Fighting Irish)
Aaron Harries (Bridgend Blue Bulls)
David Felton (Black Dragons)
Lewys Blayney (Cynon Valley Cavaliers)
Lewys Walsh (Cynon Valley Cavaliers)
Scott Whitlock (Aberavon Fighting Irish)
William McCarthy (Aberavon Fighting Irish)
Jack Dacey (Aberavon Fighting Irish)
Dylan Agar (Aberavon Fighting Irish)
Ieuan Ace (Bridgend Blue Bulls)
Ki Morgan (Aberavon Fighting Irish)
Lloyd Pritchard (Bridgend Blue Bulls)
Isaac Morgan (Aberavon Fighting Irish)
Stuart Robson (Bridgend Blue Bulls)
Daniel Forester (Bridgend Blue Bulls)
Sion Wright (Aberavon Fighting Irish)

Alex Langworthy (Rhondda Outlaws)
Luke Abbot (Cardiff Blue Dragons)
Rhodri Garland (Rhondda Outlaws)
Jake Brookes (Cardiff Blue Dragons)
Rhys Hawkins (Rhondda Outlaws)
Chris Harris (Rhondda Outlaws)
Ben Pinnock (Rhondda Outlaws)
Mike Roberts (Aber Valley Wolves)
Dean Higgs (Torfaen Tigers)
Lee Griffiths (Rhondda Outlaws)
Rob Hemming (Rhondda Outlaws)
Craig Lewis (Torfaen Tigers)
MacCauley Harris (Rhondda Outlaws)
Ieaun Grifiths (Rhondda Outlaws)
Jack Griffiths (Rhondda Outlaws)
Evan Watson (Cardiff Blue Dragons)
Myran Turare (Rhondda Outlaws)
Mike Hurley (Torfaen Tigers)